The Swedish Defence University consists of five organizational units:

The Directorate

The Swedish Defence University (SEDU) is headed by the Vice Chancellor, Pro Vice-Chancellor, Deputy Vice-Chancellor and University College Director.

Department of Security, Strategy and Leadership

Responsibilities include political science with two orientations; crisis management and international cooperation and security policy and strategy. Also included are International Law, leadership under stressful conditions and war studies, with a focus on military strategy.

The Department also includes The Institute for National Defence and Security Policy Studies (IHT). Parts of the department is located in Karlstad.

Department of Military Studies

Responsibilities include the academic disciplines of military science, management, military history and military technology.

Military Programmes´ Directorate

Is responsible for officer training that leads to an officer's exam (The Officers' Programme) and higher military education (Higher Staff Officer, Staff Training and Tactical Staff of course). Parts of the unit is located in Karlberg.

University Administration

Provides service and support for the University's staff and students.