Department of Military Studies

The department is responsible for the subjects War Studies, Military Technology, Command & Control Science, and Military History. The Department is characterised by an academic environment where teaching and research are intertwined, and where teachers and researchers interact both in theory and in practice.

The Department of Military Studies consists of staff and three organisational divisions, each of which has its own sections.

The main purpose of the department is the fulfilment of customer requirements in terms of content and quality, as well as continuous subject development. The divisions’ tasks include research, education, study activities and providing support to the Swedish Armed Forces.

Head of the department of Military Studies is Christian Jeppsson.


Tactical Warfare Division

  • Land Operations Section
  • Maritime Operations Section
  • Air Operations Section
  • Wargaming Section

Joint Warfare Division

  • Joint Operations Section
  • Operational Functions Section
  • Military History Section
  • Foreign Languages Section

Science of Command & Control, and Military Technology Division

  • Military Technology Systems Section
  • Military Technology Applications Section
  • Command and Control Section

Centre of Special Operations Research (CSOR)

Read more about the Centre of Special Operations Research.