The Board of the SEDU consists of fifteen board members. The external members, including the chairman, are appointed by the government, normally for a period of three years.

External board members below have been appointed for the period May 1, 2020 to April 30, 2023.

  • Gunnar Holmgren, Director-General, Swedish Agency for Government Employers (chairman)
  • Camilla Asp, Head of Department, Swedish Civil Contingencies Agency (MSB)
  • Klas Eksell, Major General and Director of Human Resources in the Swedish Armed Forces
  • Annika Nordgren Christensen, defense policy analyst, CEO Tjäderns byrå
  • Mika Kerttunen, Associate Professor at the National Defence University in Finland
  • Viktoria Mattsson, Head of Collaboration, External funding and Innovation at Luleå University of Technology
  • Eva-Lotta Kraft, Director, CEO Eva-Lotta Kraft Affärskonsult AB
  • Elisabet Nihlfors, Professor, Uppsala University

The Vice-Chancellor is a constant member of the board. There are also three teacher representatives from the university, appointed by ballot for a period of three years. Furthermore, there are three student representatives on the board.

  • Robert Egnell, Vice-Chancellor of the SEDU, Professor
  • Claes Wallenius, teacher representatives, PhD and Lecturer
  • Irene Clément, teacher representatives, Lieutenant Colonel and Head of the Operational Functions Section
  • Per Eliasson, teacher representatives, Lieutenant Colonel and Head of the Military History Section
  • Ida Lewenhaupt, student representatives, Chairman of the student union
  • Carl Hartman, student representatives
  • John Nisser, student representatives