Search

Search

War Studies

In Sweden, the subject of war studies can only be studied at the Swedish Defence University.

War and exercise of military power

The basic study object for war studies at the Swedish Defence University is war and the exercise of military power. The research aims at both the development of knowledge and the development of practical abilities, primarily among military professionals.

Typical research questions in war studies concern the nature and character of war, the usefulness of military means, how military organisations function (modus operandi) and how military capabilities are created, led and organised.

Knowledge development and interaction between man and technology

War studies also analyses the driving forces of military organisations, the conditions of the officer profession and how victory and defeat in battles and wars can be explained.

War studies is also about developing knowledge about system functions, such as management systems and human-technology-organisation interaction, as well as about practical management of military capability creation before deployment, capability utilization during deployment and capability reconstruction after deployment.

Each one of these phases - before, during and after an operation, covers issues all the way from the individual combat technical level to the political level.

War studies is a social science

War studies is a social science in the sense that war, warfare and the dynamics and actors of armed conflicts often are analysed in a broader social, political and cultural context.

Research relating to such a complex phenomenon as war must necessarily include several different perspectives - from the practice of the military profession to more generic perspectives from the wider social and human sciences.

Researchers and Doctoral Students

Professors

Senior Lecturers and Associate Senior Lecturers

Anna Danielsson

Anna.Danielsson@fhs.se +46 8-55342867 Associate Professor, Senior Lecturer,

Chiara Ruffa

Chiara.Ruffa@fhs.se Associate Professor, Senior Lecturer,

Dan Öberg

dan.oberg@fhs.se +46 8-55342693 Associate Professor, Senior Lecturer,

Emma Björnehed

Emma.Bjornehed@fhs.se Senior Lecturer, Director of studies,

Fredrik Doeser

Fredrik.Doeser@fhs.se +46 8-55342753 Associate Professor, Senior Lecturer,

Håkan Edström

Hakan.Edstrom@fhs.se +46 8-55342731 Associate Professor, Senior Lecturer,

Ilmari Käihkö

Ilmari.Kaihko@fhs.se +46 8-55342514 Associate Professor, Senior Lecturer,

Jacob Westberg

jacob.westberg@fhs.se +46 8-55342777 Associate Professor, Senior Lecturer,

Jenny Hedström

Jenny.Hedstrom@fhs.se +46855342770 Associate Professor, Associate Senior Lecturer,

Kersti Larsdotter

Kersti.Larsdotter@fhs.se +46 8-55342551 Associate Professor, Senior Lecturer,

Linnea Gelot

Linnea.Gelot@fhs.se Associate Professor, Senior Lecturer,

Mikael Weissmann

Mikael.Weissmann@fhs.se +46 8-55342580 Associate Professor, Senior Lecturer, Director of studies,

Niklas Nilsson

Niklas.Nilsson@fhs.se +46 8-55342858 Associate Professor, Senior Lecturer,

Peter Haldén

Peter.Halden@fhs.se Associate Professor, Senior Lecturer,

Ralph Sundberg

Ralph.Sundberg@fhs.se +46 8-55342965 Associate Professor, Senior Lecturer,

Sofia Ledberg

Sofia.Ledberg@fhs.se +46 8-55342554 Associate Professor, Senior Lecturer,

Doctoral Students

Share:
Hjälpte informationen dig?